How to Share OneDrive Files Using "Specific People" Option

Tags secure

Overview

This is recommended to limit exposure to sensitive information. 

OneDrive for work or school users have the option to restrict the level of access. The default share options are "view only" to people in our organization.  If you opt to disable editing, you can also opt to prevent viewers from downloading the file.

"Specific people" gives access only to the people you specify, although other people may already have been given access. If people forward the sharing invitation, only people who already have access to the item will be able to use the link. Note that in order to track access and ensure security, you can only share with someone who is in your organization or has a Microsoft Account.

Limit Sharing - If you are sharing sensitive or confidential information, it's a best security practice to limit sharing by only providing temporary access to files. After you have confirmed that the recipient you've shared an item with has accessed the file for their use (i.e., has already downloaded and saved it to their own personal files), you can remove their access.

OneDrive Online

  1. In your OneDrive, select the item(s) of interest, and click the Share button at the top of the page. share attachment file window
  2. In the dialog box that pops up, click Specific people. Choose whether to allow or not to allow editing.  Set the expiration date (optional), and click Apply. link settings pop up for sharing the link
  3. In the To field, enter the email addresses of the users you'd like to share your items with. You can also add a message to them if you wish. When done, click Send.send link window asking for name, group, or email

 

OneDrive Desktop

  1. Click on the File Explorer icon on your system.
  2. Right-click on the folder you want to share and select the “Give access to” optionwindow showing the option of "give access to"
  3. Select the “Specific people…” option.
  4. Click on the drop-down menu and select the user you want to share the file withchoose people to share with window
  5. Click on the “Add” option to add the user.
  6. By default, the added user is given access to read the OneDrive shared folder or file. You can give them edit access or remove their access completely by selecting the option. the read access option for sharing
  7. Click on “Share” button to share the file or folder with the recipient.

For additional information, see Share OneDrive files and folders.

Details

Article ID: 135539
Created
Tue 8/31/21 3:20 PM
Modified
Tue 9/7/21 11:50 AM